Drive Away with e-Tickets

by CXOtoday Staff    Jan 08, 2007

Petrol pumps and LPG distributors across India will provide e-ticketing facilities.

An MoU between Indian Railway Catering Tourism Corporation Ltd. (IRCTC) & Bharat Petroleum Corporation Ltd. (BPCL), has been signed to set up e-ticketing facility at all petrol pumps and LPG distributors across India.

P. K. Goel, MD, IRCTC and Sanjay Krishnamurthi, executive director- Retail, BPCL have signed the MoU in New Delhi today.

Initially, the services shall be started at 38 petrol pumps across seven major cities. These include Mumbai (6), Delhi (11), Bangalore (3), Pune (1), Chennai (6), Kolkata (6) and Secunderabad (5). These stations will be operational by end January. It will be extended to about 100 fuel stations including other cities also, by the end of March 2007. Subsequently, there will be almost about 2000 such outlets in India.

Users of this facility will have to pay an additional charge of Rs. 35 for the second class tickets, and Rs.55 for AC and first class tickets.

IRCTC already has a similar tie-up for e-ticketing with Sify